

Plone Foundation Organizational report 2022-2023

Plone Foundation Board of Directors

President: Érico Andrei

Vice-President: Kim Paulissen

Secretary: William Fennie

Jens Klein

Martin Peeters

- Paul Roeland
- T. Kim Nguyen
- Treasurer: Beth Smith (non-voting)

Jens is liaison to the Security team, Martin is liaison to the Marketing team, T. Kim Nguyen is liaison to the Membership Committee, Paul Roeland is liaison to GSoC team.

Governance

Priorities

The Plone Foundation Board has identified five priorities for focused attention and effort during the 2022-2023 term :

- Clarify the role of and strengthen the Plone Foundation:
 - communicating more clearly why being a member of the Foundation is important

- recruiting more Foundation members
- increasing members involvement in the life of the Foundation
- Ensure that the role of the Board is to oversee and assist the Plone project and community, not to manage directly.
- Empower the community:
 - nurture new participation and leadership within the community
 - assist technical teams in working together, with a revamped Steering Circle
 - renew the accessibility ("a11y") team, update our VPAT statement for Plone 6
 - renew our subcommunities, including PloneEdu, PloneGov, regional and language-specific groups
- Improve Plone's documentation and market positioning:
 - deduplicate information currently found in both our documentation and training materials
 - clarify and document the different parts of the Plone ecosystem (Zope, Plone, Volto vs Classic, Guillotina)
- Create a relationship with Plone service providers:
 - highlight providers successes and capabilities
 - o grow sponsorships to include more providers, consultants and individuals
- Modernize the Plone contributor agreement process

Bylaws

The Board proposed the following changes to the Foundation Bylaws:

- Inclusive language
- Two-year terms for board members

During the vote, which took place from August 17 to 25, 80 people voted, 74 people accepted the change, 6 people refused.

Membership

Membership Committee

The <u>Membership Committee</u> reviews all applications for membership in the Foundation and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors.

- Víctor Fernández de Alba, co-chair
- T. Kim Nguyen, co-chair
- Asko Soukka
- Leonardo Caballero
- Kim Paulissen
- William Fennie
- Peter Holzer
- Andy Leeb

New Members

The following new members have been approved. Welcome and thank you for your contributions to the Plone community!

Below is the list of new members:

- Mauro Amico
- Talya Beyers
- Jan Buruck
- Karel Calitz
- André Clímaco Pereira Barbosa
- Brian Davis
- Joao Henrique Gouveia
- Martin Peeters

Status of Membership Roster

As of October 6, 2023, the breakdown of members by their status:

Active Members: 100 from 21 countries

• Emeritus: 189

Pending Review: 5

Community & Code

Steering Circle

Reorganization of the existing Steering Circle, now led by Eric Steele.

Contributor Agreement Process

Led by Paul Roeland, the Plone Foundation implemented a streamlined process to handle contributor agreement submissions.

New Contributors

The following people signed contributor agreements this year. We are always excited to have new people contributing to the Plone code base!

This year there were 43 new contributors.

GSoC

The Plone Foundation was accepted as a mentor organization for the Google Summer of Code 2023.

Coordinated by Éric Bréhault, the following students and mentors worked on five distinct projects:

Student	Mentors
Hemant Chaudhary	Víctor Fernández de Alba
Justdaksh	Steve Piercy
Pavan-Thota	Andreas Jung
Rahil Hastu	Rob Gietema and Jakob Kahl
Tisha Soumya	Nilesh and Jefferson Bledsoe

Sprints

Strategic Sprints

The Board helped fund the following strategic sprints:

- Alpine City Sprint February
- Beethoven Sprint May

Community Sprints

- Tune-Ups
- Plone.Org Sprints
- Plone Midsummer Sprint
- Cerrado Sprint (Funded by the PF as Small Sprint)
- aRtsPRiNt (Funded by the PF as Large Sprint)

Marketing

World Plone Day 2023

The Marketing Team lead the organization of this year's edition of the World Plone Day. There were 54 videos recorded during this year's event.

The Board held a Meeting open session during the event.

Plone Conference 2023

The Plone Foundation supported the organization team during the preparation of Plone Conference 2023.

Evangelism & Outreach

Open Source Week - November/December 2022

We sponsored the event to promote Plone in Italy

Plone Symposium South America, November 2022

The Plone Foundation supported the event by sharing its Marketing tools with local organizers.

Python Web Conf - March (Online)

We sponsored the event which included Plone talks

CMS Garden

We continued our membership.

Other initiatives

PloneGov-Br online events

- Plone Mão na Massa (3 episodes)
- Plone de Norte a Sul (2 episodes)
- The Plone Newsroom (6 episodes)

Sprints

- Regular Plone Classic UI Sprints
- Regular Zope Sprints
- Plone 6 Micro-Sprints
- Plone.org Sprints
- Mosaic Upgrade Sprint
- Cerrado Sprint

Sponsorships

T. Kim Nguyen managed Foundation sponsorships this year.

Premium Sponsors

- Enfold Systems
- Jazkarta
- Six Feet Up
- Starzel.de
- Syslab
- Quaive

Standard Sponsors

- Agile.Coach
- cloud19
- Kombinat
- RedTurtle
- Zopyx

Plone Foundation Heroes (Individual Sponsors)

As always, a very special thanks also to our individual sponsors:

Jakob Kahl	Paul Roeland
Jan Buruck	Lucas Aquino

- Maurits van Rees
- David Glick
- Joao Henrique Gouveia
- Fred van Dijk
- Alin Voinea
- Timo Stollenwerk
- Gil Forcada Codinachs
- Philip Bauer
- Jens Klein
- Kim Paulissen
- Nicola Zambello

- Rikupekka Oksanen
- Érico Andrei
- Rafael Nunez
- Jussi Talaskivi
- David Ichim
- Michael (Flip) McFadden
- Franco Pellegrini
- T. Kim Nguyen
- Thomas Schorr
- Eric Steele

Next Plone Foundation Board of Directors

All active members of the Plone Foundation as of October 5, 2023, at 17:00 UTC, were eligible to vote in the Board election, which was conducted online from October 5 at 18:00 UTC to October 6, 2023, at 13:00 UTC. The election used Scottish STV to select the seven board members.

The candidates, and the number of terms they served on the Board were:

- Brian Davis (No terms)
- Éric Bréhault (No terms)
- Guido Steven (No terms)
- Kim Paulissen (2 terms)
- Martin Peeters (1 term)
- Mikel Larreategi (No terms)
- Paul Roeland (12 terms)
- William Fennie (3 terms)

Election rules stated: "The members who have served the fewest number of terms on the Board would be allowed to serve a two-year term, and the ones who have served the most terms would be allowed to serve a one-year term".

- 2023-2024: 4 seats
 - Brian Davis
 - Kim Paulissen

- Martin Peeters
- Paul Roeland
- 2023-2025: 3 seats
 - Éric Bréhault
 - o Guido Steven
 - o Mikel Larreategi

As Brian Davis was selected in a later round, compared to other candidates with the same number of terms, he was moved to the 2023-2024 cohort.

The board of directors for the 2023-2024 term will be formed by:

- Brian Davis
- Éric Bréhault
- Guido Steven
- Kim Paulissen
- Martin Peeters
- Mikel Larreategi
- Paul Roeland

The Plone Foundation would like to thanks the outgoing Board members: Érico Andrei, Jens Klein, T. Kim Nguyen, and William Fennie for their service